Monday 26th March, 17:45 - 19:00, Reardon Smith Theatre, National Museum Cardiff (followed by a drinks reception in the Lower Hall, City Hall, 19:00 - 20:00)

Sponsored by the National Assembly for Wales, the Learned Society of Wales and the PSA Women and Politics Specialist Group

Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast have now seen twenty years of devolution. Although women's representation in the devolved institutions has surpassed that at the national level – indeed in Wales, for a brief period, women outnumbered men in the Senedd - there remain clear discrepancies between nations, and some distance to go to ensure equality of representation.

This event will bring together a panel of practitioners and academics, who will each address one devolved area of the United Kingdom and the challenges and opportunities that each has presented for women’s representation.

Chair: Ann Jones AM, Deputy Presiding Officer, National Assembly for Wales


Joyce Watson AM has been a Labour Assembly Member for Mid and West Wales since 2007. In 2017, at the 63rd Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference in Dhaka, Bangladesh, Joyce was elected vice chair of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians. She champions the White Ribbon cause, enlisting support to End Violence against Women. In 2009 Joyce launched the Women in Construction network in which she works with employers and trade bodies to promote diversity in the industry.

Dr Meryl Kenny is Lecturer in Gender and Politics at the University of Edinburgh. Her research interests bridge the intersection of gender politics, party politics, territorial politics, and institutional approaches to the study of politics. She is an elected trustee of the Political Studies association and chairs the PSA’s Equality and Diversity committee.

Dr Jennifer Thomson is Lecturer in Comparative Politics at the University of Bath. Her research interests are gender and politics; devolution in the contemporary United Kingdom; and women’s rights in post-conflict divided societies. She co-convenes the PSA’s Women and Politics Specialist Group.