Room B, City Hall
Time Slot: 
Tuesday 27th March 09:30 - 11:00
Panel Chair: 
  • Dr Daniele Albertazzi (University of Birmingham)
Panel Members: 
  • Dr Hartwig Pautz (University of the West of Scotland)
  • Dr Kevin Deegan-Krause (Wayne State University)
  • Dr Emilia Palonen (University of Helsinki)
  • Professor Giuseppe Ieraci (University of Trieste )

In many parts of Europe and elsewhere populist parties have made great strides at elections. Some of these parties are long-established, while some have entered parliament for the first time and thereby pose a fresh challenge to established political actors. This panel "New Parties, Party Systems and the Populist Moment (1)" and a second under the same title bring together papers which scrutinize the populist parties themselves (their organisation, style of leadership, communication strategy and rhetoric), the relationship between populist parties and mainstream ones, and how populism impacts on party politics in parliaments. Papers in this panel take comparative perspectives and present single-case studies. They bring together research on Germany, Central and Eastern Europe, and Italy with wider comparative work. 

​These are the titles of the papers: 

‘The New Party Challenge: “Populist” Appeals and the Accelerating Cycles of Party Birth and Death in Central Europe and Beyond’, Kevin Deegan-Krause (Wayne State University) and Tim Haughton (University of Birmingham) 

‘Dynamics in Party Systems: Fringe, Mainstream and/or Competing Populist Parties’, Emilia Palonen (University of Helsinki) 

‘Re-shaping the Political Space: Coalitional Game and Coalition Potential of the Movimento Cinque Stelle in Italy’, Giuseppe Ieraci (DISPES)

‘Same Room, Different People: Why Legislatures Can Survive Uncertain Times’, Haoyu Zhai (University of Oxford) 

‘The Alternative für Deutschland: a Populist Newcomer Party’, Hartwig Pautz (University of the West of Scotland)

​Please note: 

This is a joint panel proposed by the following Specialist Groups: French Politics Specialist Group; German Politics Specialist Group; Greek Politics Specialist Group; Italian Politics Specialist Group; Parliaments Specialist Group; Rhetoric Specialist Group