PSA Annual Awards


Tuesday 5th December (Church House, Westminster)

PSA AWARDS 2017 – Call for Nominations Now Open

The PSA Annual Awards 2017 - our sixteenth - is an occasion to recognise the individuals and organisations that are shaping another lively and unpredictable year in politics. 

PSA members are invited to submit nominations and now is a a timely opportunity to have your say, as we continue to assess the political landscape following the recent UK General Election. 

Have you been persuaded by a politican that has avoided hackneyed soundbites, engaged positively with voters, or articulated policies and arguments with substance and clarity?

Has there been an individual or organisation that has shown tenacity, courage and perseverance in campaigning on an issue?

Do you have a colleague whose work you feel has made a significant academic contribution, conveyed evidence-based research into the public domain or had a demonstrable effect on public policy?

Have you been impressed by an individual that has provided a unique perspective via the arts to help the public better understand and interpret contemporary politics?

Is there a journalist or broadcaster who should be acknowledged for conveying reasoned and prescient opinion, asking pertinent questions, debunking misinformation, and providing credible and astute analysis or reportage?

Nominations will be considered and winners chosen by a specially convened Awards Committee, chaired by Professor Angelia Wilson, Chair of the PSA.

The winners will be announced at the PSA Annual Awards Dinner and Ceremony on Tuesday 5th December at Church House, Westminster. The event will be hosted by Jon Snow of Channel 4 News and filmed by BBC Parliament. PSA members will have the opportunity to attend via entering a members' ballot later this year. 

Awards categories, submitting nominations, rules and criteria:

  • Nominations can be submitted for the categories listed below.
  • The nomination form can be downloaded here and includes the rules and eligibility criteria. 
  • Nomination forms should be returned via email to Avnish Patel no later than Friday 7th July.


PSA Awards 2017 - Categories*

Politician of the Year

Parliamentarian of the Year

Lifetime Achievement in Politics

Best Use of Evidence - Politician (in partnership with the Alliance for Useful Evidence)

Campaign / Campaigner of the Year

Journalist of the Year

Broadcaster of the Year

Contribution to the Arts and Culture

Political Image of the Year

International Recognition

Sir Isaiah Berlin Prize for Lifetime Contribution to Political Studies

Political Studies Communicator

Innovation in Teaching Politics (Group) Award

In addition to the above, please note that a new annual academic award will also be launched this year and details will be available soon. 


PSA Awards 2016

The Awards have continued to grow in prominence and at last year’s Ceremony on 29th November, it was clear that it was not just politicians who made an impact.

The Awards were presented by Jon Snow of Channel 4 News and the full list of winners is as follows:

  • Parliamentarian of the Year: Baroness Smith of Basildon (Award presented by Steve Richards, The Independent)
  • Politician of the Year: Sadiq Khan 
  • Broadcaster of the Year: Laura Kuenssberg (Award presented by Dr Sarah Wollaston MP)
  • Journalist of the Year: Rachel Sylvester (Award presented by Rt Hon Dominic Grieve MP)
  • Enlightening the Public: The Iraq Inquiry (Award presented by Michael Crick, Channel 4 News)
  • Lifetime Achievement in Politics: Rt Hon Gordon Brown
  • Contribution to the Arts and Culture: Grayson Perry (Award presented by Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP)
  • Campaigners of the Year: Margaret Aspinall and Professor Phil Scraton (Award presented by Rt Hon Caroline Flint MP)
  • Best Use of Evidence - Politician: Lord Stern of Brentford (Award presented by Kamal Ahmed, BBC)
  • Best Use of Social Media: Ruth Davidson (Award presented by Matt Forde, Comedian)
  • International Recognition: Michael Ignatieff (Award presented by Rt Hon John Bercow MP)
  • Political Image of the Year: Jeffrey Mitchell (Award presented by Fatima Manji, Channel 4 News)
  • Democratic Innovation: Democracy Matters Citizens' Assembly Project (Award presented by Rt Hon Carwyn Jones, First Minister of Wales)
  • Innovation in Teaching Politics: Dr Matthew Wyman (Award presented by Ziyad Marar, SAGE Publishing)
  • Political Studies Communicator: Professor Anand Menon (Award presented by Rona Fairhead CBE)
  • Public Understanding of Politics: Professor Nicola McEwen
  • Sir Isaiah Berlin Prize for Lifetime Contribution to Political Studies: Professor Anne Phillips (Award presented by Michelle Phillips, Routledge & Baroness Warsi)
  • W.J.M. Mackenzie Book Prize: Professor Christopher and Dr Ruth Dixon - A Government That Worked Better and Cost Less? Evaluating Three Decades of Reform and Change in UK Central Government (Award presented by Phil Sooben, ESRC)
  • PSA Schools' Short Video Competition: Christleton High School, Chester


Previous Awards

Previous Awards Brochures

The awards categories and recipients do not reflect the views of the PSA. In conferring an award the PSA is in no way supporting or opposing a particular person, policy or viewpoint but merely acknowledging an influence or “achievement”.

Please contact Avnish Patel, Events & Marketing Manager, PSA, if you require any further details.