Welcome to the PSA Conservatism Studies Group. 

We study conservatism.


The group aims to encourage the creation and dissemination of high quality research in the study of conservatism, conservatives and centre-right politics, e.g. conservative politics, parties, leaders, ideologies, media and organisations.

We are a specialist group at the Political Studies Association (PSA), an international scholarly society in the United Kingdom.

The group aims to create a sense of identity and common purpose among those interested in a part of the political spectrum that has attracted far less scholarly interest than its obvious electoral and philosophical importance merits.

The group aims to take a supportive approach in order to encourage engagement with conservatism studies across the many levels of academic development. We aim to promote pluralism, balance, diversity and equality.



The group is convened by Drs Anthony Ridge-Newman (Liverpool Hope) and Alan Convery (Edinburgh). Nina Rogers (Liverpool Hope) is the group’s communications officer.



The Tory Research Impact Network (TRIN) and its committee work in close partnership with the PSA Conservatism Studies Group (CSG). The TRIN is chaired by Dr Anthony Ridge-Newman, co-convenor of the CSG. The 16-member TRIN committee includes Prof Tim Bale, Dr Danielle Beswick, Dr David Torrance, Prof Agnès Alexandre-Collier, Owen Meredith, Dr Carlotta Redi, David Jones MP and Margaret Mitchell MSP.

One of the Government's agendas in relation to academic research has been to place an increasing emphasis on 'impact' from scholarly publications. Developing the TRIN committee is part of Dr Ridge-Newman’s response to this.

The TRIN committee is a central hub that helps facilitate pathways to impact for a wider network of scholars, for example, CSG members, and political participants with interests in or links to British Conservatism and the study of it.

The TRIN and CSG impact events will aim to connect the work of scholars to that of the relevant party participants in order to help develop ongoing and mutually beneficial research impact strategies.

As a member of the CSG you will be welcome to participate in the TRIN’s activities. 



Email: conservatism.group@psa.ac.uk

Twitter: https://twitter.com/psaconsstudies

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/321079534573305/

Web: http://www.psa-conservatism.org.uk


If you would like to join the group and be added to our mailing list, please contact the convenors.
Image:Andrew Parsons/ i-Images
Specialist Groups Convenors: 
Role Name Institution Email
Convenor Anthony Ridge-Newman Liverpool Hope University ridgena@hope.ac.uk
Convenor Alan Convery University of Edinburgh alan.convery@ed.ac.uk
Communications Officer Nina Rogers Liverpool Hope University rogersn@hope.ac.uk
Internationalization Officer Marija Taflaga Australian National University marija.taflaga@anu.edu.au
Treasurer Christopher Fear University of Hull C.Fear@hull.ac.uk