This group focuses on the study of parliament and our members include single country specialists as well as those with comparative interests. Our research encompasses questions about executive-legislative relations, scrutiny, organisation and procedure, committees, institutional change and reform, parliamentary parties, representation, parliamentary careers, public engagement and trust.

Our members work on a wide range of legislatures, at national, sub-national and supra-national levels of governance, and encompass both modern and historical perspectives, as well as qualitative and quantitative approaches.

The group convenors are Marc Geddes ( and Louise Thompson ( . Our Communications Officer is Alexandra Meakin ( and our Treasurer is Sean Haughey ( Please get in touch if you would like further information or have any suggestions for the group.


To keep up to date with the group's activities, please follow the following link to our dedicated website:



Specialist Groups Convenors: 
Role Name Institution Email
Convenor Louise Thompson University of Manchester
Convener Marc Geddes University of Edinburgh
Communications Officer Alexandra Meakin University of Sheffield