Westminster Hall Debate

The FCO’s human rIghts work in 2012

Thursday 23 January 2014

On Thursday 23 January there will be a debate in Westminster Hall on the Foreign Affairs Committee's Fourth Report of Session 2013-14: The FCO’s Human Rights Work in 2012. The Chair of the Committee, Sir Richard Ottaway MP, will open the debate, which is expected to cover the FCO’s human rights policy in many areas, including Burma, Sri Lanka, Russia, human rights and counter-terrorism, the prevention of sexual violence against women, and freedom of expression in broadcast media. Debate will start at 1.30 pm, and an FCO Minister will respond.

The debate will be webcast at http://www.parliamentlive.tv/Main/Player.aspx?meetingId=14593.

Read the Committee’s Report here and the Government’s Response here.

Members of the public who want to attend the debate should enter the Palace of Westminster via the Visitor Centre, from where they will be directed through security and to Westminster Hall. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes for this. Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering Westminster Hall. Under no circumstances should members of the public address Members during the debate. Those attending the debate are asked to remain silent throughout. For further information please call Louise Glen, on 020 7219 6106.



Committee Membership is as follows:

Rt Hon Sir Richard Ottaway (Chair) (Croydon South), Conservative; Mr John Baron (Basildon and Billericay), Conservative; Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell (North East Fife), Liberal Democrats; Rt Hon Ann Clwyd (Cynon Valley), Labour; Mike Gapes (Ilford South), Labour; Mark Hendrick (Preston), Labour; Sandra Osborne (Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock), Labour; Andrew Rosindell (Romford), Conservative; Mr Frank Roy (Motherwell and Wishaw), Labour; Rt Hon Sir John Stanley (Tonbridge and Malling), Conservative; Rory Stewart (Penrith and The Border), Conservative;

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 6105, email – facom@parliament.uk

Media Information: Alex Paterson  patersona@parliament.uk 020 7219 1589, or 07917 488488

Committee Websitewww.parliament.uk/facom