The Politicial Studies Association Awards, held at Church House on Tuesday 5 December, recognised politicians, academics, journalists, policy makers and artists for their contribution to the practice and study of politics over the past 12 months. 

The winners were chosen by a panel of expert judges from a shortlist of nominations by members of the Political Studies Association.

The jury consisted of: Professor Angelia Wilson, Chair, PSA; Dr Paul Tobin, Trustee, PSA; Professor Sarah Childs, Professor of Politics and Gender, University of Birkbeck; Matt Forde, Broadcaster and Comedian; Fatima Manji, News Correspondent, Channel 4 News; Will Moy, Director, Full Fact; and Anne Perkins, Leader Writer, The Guardian.

The full list of winners reads:

  • Politician of the Year: The Rt Hon Jeremy Corbyn MP (awarded in absentia)
  • Parliamentarian of Year: Ruth Davidson MSP (awarded by Professor Angelia Wilson, Chair, PSA)
  • Backbencher of the Year Award:  Stella Creasy MP (awarded by Rt Hon John Bercow MP, Speaker of the House of Commons)
  • Best use of evidence by a politician:  Dr Sarah Wollaston MP (awarded by Jonathan Breckon, Director, Alliance for Useful Evidence)
  • Campaigner of the year:  Gina Miller (awarded by Fatima Manji, News Correspondent, Channel 4 News)
  • Journalist of the Year:  Stephen Bush (awarded by Anne Perkins, Leader Writer, The Guardian)
  • Broadcaster of the Year: Emma Barnett (awarded by Matt Forde, Broadcaster and Comedian)
  • Contribution to the Arts and Culture:  James Graham (awarded by Grayson Perry, Artist)
  • Sir Isaiah Berlin Prize for lifetime contribution to Political Studies:  Professor Pippa Norris (awarded by Sir Ivor Crewe, Master of University College, Oxford)
  • Political Studies Communicator:  Professor Roger Scully (awarded by Ziyad Marar, President of Global Publishing, SAGE)
  • Jo Cox Prize for Public Service and Activ Citizenship: Dr Sarah Marie Hall (awarded by Professor Sarah Childs, Professor of Politics and Gender, Birkbeck, University of London)
  • Special Recognition Award:  The academic team for the BBC/ITV/Sky joint exit poll for the 2017 General Election (awarded by Adam Boulton, Editor-at-Large, Sky News)
  • Student Short Video Competition:  Methodist College Belfast (awarded by Emma Little Pengelly Member of Parliament for Belfast South & Joe Twyman, Head of Political and Social Research for Europe, Middle East and Africa YouGov)
  • Political Image of the Year: Geert Van Den Wijngaert, Associated Press (awarded by Will Moy, Director, Full Fact)


Prime Minister Theresa May waits for European Council President Donald Tusk prior to a bilateral meeting during an EU Summit in Brussels (20 October 2017)

The evening was hosted by Jon Snow, Channel 4 News and the guestlist included parliamentarians from the House of Commons and the House of Lords, noted journalists and prominent academics. You can download the full brochure of the evening here

A photo gallery of the evening is available on our Flickr page