Nominate the best academics, books, articles and scholars for the 2018-19 PSA Prizes.

We are pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the PSA Academic Prizes 2018-19! The Prizes celebrate the best academics, books, articles and scholars of the year and the winners will be revealed at the PSA’s Annual Conference Dinner in Nottingham on Tuesday 16th April 2019.

You can find all the information about the individual prizes including how to submit your nominations below, and the deadline for submissions is 3pm on 18 December 2018.

The Prize Handbook contains important information about eligibility and the guidelines for each prize. Please ensure you read the Prize Handbook carefully before submitting a nomination.

In line with our ongoing commitment to equality and diversity, the PSA also particularly welcomes nominations from women and black and minority ethnic (BME) scholars, who have been historically under-represented in PSA prize nominations and awards. We also encourage participation from across the HE sector, in particular from post-92 universities. 


Dissertation Prizes

There are six prizes available for PhD dissertations passed this calendar year:

  • Walter Bagehot Prize, for government and public administration
  • Sir Ernest Barker Prize, for political theory
  • Lord Bryce Prize, for comparative politics (*previously comparative politics and international relations*)
  • Arthur McDougall Fund Prize, for elections, electoral systems and representation
  • Elizabeth Wiskemann Prize, for the study of (in)equality and social justice
  • Shirin M. Rai Prize, for international relations (*new for 2017*)


Career Prizes

There are two prizes open for nominations in the career category:

  • Joni Lovenduski Prize, for outstanding professional achievement by a midcareer scholar (*new in 2017*)
  • Richard Rose Prize, for early career scholar who has made a distinctive contribution to British politics


Teaching Prizes

There are four prizes open for nominations in the teaching category:

  • Jennie Lee Prize (Main Entrant), for outstanding teaching (*renamed in 2017*)
  • Sir Bernard Crick Prize (New Entrant), for outstanding teaching
  • Innovations in Quantitative Methods Teaching Prize (*new in 2017*)
  • The Outstanding Teaching of Politics in Schools Prize (*new in 2017*)


Group Prizes

There are two group prizes available:

  • Specialist Group of the Year Prize
  • Politics Society of the Year Prize (*new in 2017*)

There are also four article prizes (Harrison Prize; POLITICS Prize; BJPIR Prize; POLITICS Learning and Teaching Prize) to be awarded at the Annual Conference Dinner in March 2018 – the winners of which are determined internally by the respective journals.


Page contact: Rosie Inman via: