We are delighted to announce the following programme highlights for the PSA's 2021 Annual Conference. You can register for our annual conference here.



Keynote Panel: Brexit and Northern Ireland (Monday 17:30-19:00)


  • Mr Fintan O’Toole 
  • Professor Katy Hayward


In discussion with Professor Richard English (Pro-VC Queen’s University Belfast).



Keynote lecture: Heath Robinson meets Lijphart: A Guide to Institutional Layering in and over Northern Ireland (Tuesday 19:00-20:30)


  • Professor Brendan O’Leary 


In discussion with Professor John Gary



Centre for Gender in Politics (Monday 13:00 – 14:30)

Feminist Dialogues on the Politics of Borders


  • Dr Gemma Bird  
  • Dr Maria-Adriana Deiana  


Chair: Dr Jamie J. Hagen  



Centre for Sustainability, Equality and Climate Action (Monday 11:15 – 12:45)


Building back better – a green and just post-pandemic economic recovery

Participants : 

  • Professor John Barry 
  • Dr Amanda Slevin 
  • Mr Steven Agnew 
  • Mr Stiofán Ó Nualláin 
  • Ms Susan Fitzgerald




The Democracy Unit (Tuesday 15:30 – 17:00)


The Comparative Endurance & Efficiency of Religion: A Public Choice Approach


  • Professor Tony Gill 
  • Dr Christopher Raymond (moderator)




Centre for the Study of Ethnic Conflict (Monday 15:45 – 17:15)


Resilience in Postconflict Contexts: Challenges of Powersharing Governance During the Pandemic”

Chair: Dr Timofey Agarin 


  • Professor Caroline Hartzell 
  • Dr Allison McCulloch
  • Dr Elisabeth King
  • Dr Tamirace Fakhoury
  • Dr Giuditta Fontana