Gathering in York from 11 – 13 April for our annual conference gave us a great opportunity to celebrate the fantastic achievements of our members with our prestigious Academic Prizes.

As always, we would like to give a massive thank you to everyone who entered, nominated, and judged this year’s prizes.

We are delighted to be able to celebrate our winners on our website and our social media channels. Congratulations!

The PSA hopes you will join us in celebrating the achievements of your colleagues and this showcase of the very best of our discipline.

So please join us in raising a glass to our colleagues – you can find a full list of our 2021-22 winners and judges below.


Dissertation Prizes


Career Prizes


Teaching Prizes


Group Prizes


Book Prize

The PSA would like to extend our gratitude to the judges which were involved in helping us make the Academic Prizes possible!

Thank you to all of you who have helped us make #PSAPrizes possible. 


Career Prizes

Joni Lovenduski Prize, Richard Rose Prize and the Political Communicator of the Year
Dr Manu Savani (Brunel University London), Prof. John Craig (Leeds Beckett University & Chair of the PSA's Teaching & Learning Network) and Prof. Roger Awan-Scully (Hong Kong Baptist University & PSA Chair)


Dissertation Prizes

Walter Bagehot Prize
Dr Alexandra Meakin (University of Leeds), Dr Nick Or (City University of Hong Kong) and Dr Michael Cole (University of Liverpool)

Lord Bryce Prize
Dr Diana Stirbu (London Metropolitan University) and Dr Matt Wood (Sheffield University)      

Shirin M Rai Prize
Dr Jeremy Green (University of Cambridge), Dr Kamila Stullerova (Aberystwyth University) and Dr Filippo Boni (The Open University)

McDougall Trust Prize
Dr Anna Sanders (University of Manchester), Sir Ivor Crewe (University of Oxford) and Prof. Charlie Lees (Flinders University)

Elizabeth Wiskemann Prize
Dr Aleydis Nissen (Leiden University), Dr Clare Rice (Newcastle University) and Dr Thomas Prosser (Cardiff University)


Teaching and Group Prizes

Dr Arianna Giovannini (De Montfort University), Dr Liam McLoughlin (University of Manchester), Joan Fisher (PSA) and Lali Sindi (PSA).


Book Prize

Mackenzie Book Prize
Prof. Cathy Gormley-Heenan (Chair of Judging Panel & Ulster University), Dr Ashley Dodworth (University of Bristol), Dr Marc Geddes (University of Edinburgh), Prof. Robert Johns (University of Essex) and Adam Brown (PSA).