MPs continue their inquiry into the Referendum on Separation for Scotland.

The Committee is exploring several subjects to help the people of Scotland make an informed choice in the forthcoming referendum on separation in September 2014.

The purpose of this evidence session is to discuss the negotiations that would take place between Scotland, the rest of the United Kingdom and international organisations such as the EU and NATO, should Scotland vote for separation on 18 September 2014. Topics will include the process of the negotiations (who will be involved in the negotiations and the timescale for them), what the key issues might be and what legislation might be required.

The Committee will take evidence on Wednesday 15th January 2014 in Committee Room 8, Palace of Westminster.

At 2.30pm

  • Professor Iain McLean, Professor of Politics, Official Fellow, Nuffield College, University of Oxford
  • Professor Adam Tomkins, John Millar Chair of Public Law, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Kenneth Armstrong, Professor of European Law, University of Cambridge


Information on the Committee’s future meetings is available on the What’s On section of the Scottish Affairs Committee homepage.



Committee Membership is as follows: Mr Ian Davidson MP (Lab/Co-op, Glasgow South West) (Chair), Mike Crockart MP (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West), Jim McGovern MP (Lab, Dundee West), Graeme Morrice MP (Lab, Livingston), Pamela Nash MP (Lab, Airdrie and Shotts), Sir Jim Paice MP (Con, South East Cambridgeshire) Simon Reevell MP (Con, Dewsbury), Mr Alan Reid MP (LD, Argyll and Bute), Lindsay Roy MP (Lab, Glenrothes), and Dr Eilidh Whiteford MP (SNP, Banff and Buchan)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer: 020 7219 0724

Committee Website: