As we clear the virtual confetti away on PSA Prizes 2019-20, we'd like to take a moment to recognise our esteemed judging panels for their hard work.

Each of our Academic Prizes is judged by a panel of experts from institutions across the country (and, occasionally, even further afield!) who give up their time voluntarily for the good of the discipline. It is no exaggeration when we say that we couldn’t have done it without them! 

The PSA would like to extend a huge thank you to every single one of our 32 judges this year for giving their time, expertise and commitment to the association and in helping us celebrate and inspire excellence in our discipline.


A full list of our panels is available below:

Career Prizes

Joni Lovenduski Prize
Prof. Nic Cheeseman (University of Birmingham), Dr Liz Evans (Goldsmiths, University of London), Dr Kyle Grayson (Newcastle University)

Richard Rose Prize
Prof. Sarah Childs (Birkbeck, University of London), Prof. Dan Wincott (Cardiff University), Prof. Jennifer Hudson (University College London)


Dissertation Prizes

Walter Bagehot Prize
Dr Alice Moseley (University of Exeter), Dr Harshan Kumarasingham (University of Edinburgh), Prof. Chris Pierson (University of Nottingham)

Ernest Barker Prize
Dr Mihaela Mihai (University of Edinburgh), Prof Arshin Adib-Moghaddam (SOAS University of London), Dr Simon Choat (Kingston Universtity)

Lord Bryce Prize
Dr Fanni Toth (Loughborough University), Dr Gergana Dimova (University of Winchester), Dr Matteo Fumagalli (University of St Andrews)      

Shirin M Rai Prize
Dr Lewis Turner (Arnold Bergstraesser Institute), Dr Sophia Price (Leeds Beckett University), Prof. Roland Dannreuther (University of Westminster)

McDougall Trust Prize
Dr Katerina Tertytchnaya (University College London), Dr Meryl Kenny (University of Edinburgh), Dr Zachary Greene (University of Strathclyde)

Elizabeth Wiskemann Prize
Dr Manjeet Ramgotra (SOAS University of London), Dr Maarja Luhiste (Newcastle University), Prof. Nasar Meer (University of Edinburgh)


Teaching and Group Prizes

Politics Society of the Year
Prof. Fiona Mackay (University of Edinburgh), Dr Rose Gann (Nottingham Trent University)

Innovations in Teaching Politics (Group) Award
Dr Donna Smith (Open University), Prof. John Craig (Leeds Beckett University)

Innovation in Quantitative Teaching Methods Prize
Dr Peter Allen (University of Bath), Prof. Fiona Mackay (University of Edinburgh)

Bernard Crick Prize for Outstanding Teaching
Dr Donna Smith (Open University), Prof. John Craig (Leeds Beckett University)

Outstanding Teaching in Schools Prize
Prof. Fiona Mackay (University of Edinburgh), Dr Rose Gann (Nottingham Trent University)


Book Prize

Mackenzie Book Prize
Prof. Danièle Joly (University of Warwick), Dr Khursheed Wadia (University of Warwick), Prof. Paul Cairney (University of Stirling)