PSA Academic Prizes: Our Esteemed Judges for 2021-22

York, 13 April, 2022: The PSA would like to thank and recognise our esteemed judging panels and contributors for giving their time to judge our prizes and for all their hard work!

Each of our Academic Prizes is judged by a panel of experts from institutions across the country (and, occasionally, even further afield!) who give up their time voluntarily for the good of the discipline. We really could not have done it without them!

The PSA would like to extend its gratitude to every single one of the 25 judges and contributors this year for their expertise and commitment to the association and in helping us celebrate and inspire excellence in our discipline.

A full list of our panels who played a part in our 2021-22 Academic Prizes is available below:

Career Prizes

Joni Lovenduski Prize, Isaiah Berlin Prize, Richard Rose Prize and the Political Communicator of the Year
Dr Manu Savani (Brunel University London), Prof. John Craig (Leeds Beckett University & Chair of the PSA's Teaching & Learning Network) and Prof. Roger Awan-Scully (Hong Kong Baptist University & PSA Chair)

Dissertation Prizes

Walter Bagehot Prize
Dr Alexandra Meakin (University of Leeds), Dr Nick Or (City University of Hong Kong) and Dr Michael Cole (University of Liverpool)

Lord Bryce Prize
Dr Diana Stirbu (London Metropolitan University) and Dr Matt Wood (Sheffield University)      

Shirin M Rai Prize
Dr Jeremy Green (University of Cambridge), Dr Kamila Stullerova (Aberystwyth University) and Dr Filippo Boni (The Open University)

McDougall Trust Prize
Dr Anna Sanders (University of Manchester), Sir Ivor Crewe (University of Oxford) and Prof. Charlie Lees (Flinders University)

Elizabeth Wiskemann Prize
Dr Aleydis Nissen (Leiden University), Dr Clare Rice (Newcastle University) and  Dr Thomas Prosser (Cardiff University)


Teaching and Group Prizes

Dr Arianna Giovannini (De Montfort University), Dr Liam McLoughlin (University of Manchester). Joan Fisher (PSA) and Lali Sindi (PSA).


Book Prize

Mackenzie Book Prize
Cathy Gormley-Heenan (Chair of Judging Panel & Ulster University), Dr Ashley Dodworth (University of Bristol), Dr Marc Geddes (University of Edinburgh), Prof. Robert Johns (University of Essex) and Adam Brown (PSA).