This group focuses on the study of parliament and our members include single country specialists as well as those with comparative interests. Our research encompasses questions about executive-legislative relations, scrutiny, organisation and procedure, committees, institutional change and reform, parliamentary parties, representation, parliamentary careers, public engagement and trust.

Our members work on a wide range of legislatures, at national, sub-national and supra-national levels of governance, and encompass both modern and historical perspectives, as well as qualitative and quantitative approaches.

The group convenors are Stephen Holden Bates ( and Alexandra Meakin ( Our Communications Officer is Chris Monaghan (, our Treasurer is Sean Haughey (, and our Membership Officer is Caroline Bhattacharya ( Please get in touch if you would like further information or have any suggestions for the group.

To keep up to date with the group's activities, please click this link to visit our dedicated website.

Contact Us

Stephen Holden Bates

Role: Convenor
Institution: University of Birmingham


Alexandra Meakin

Role: Convenor
Institution: University of Leeds



Join this Group

Group Events

Specialist Group event
28 Jan

A one-day workshop cohosted by the Parliaments, the Race, Migration & Intersectionaltiy and the Women & Politics specialist groups of the...

28 January 2022, online