This group exists to promote the study of populist discourses, movements and parties at a local, national, European and international level. It aims at encouraging a rigorous theoretical and conceptual grounding of populism research as well as the strengthening of its analytical scope through comparative, quantitative and qualitative methods.

The Populism Specialist Group purports to facilitate a critical dialogue about contemporary democratic politics, and populism’s complex role within that. It particularly invites the participation and contribution of international scholars from countries and regions where populism has marked political culture shaping political frontiers and stimulating antithetical discursive articulations.

The group’s Co-Convenors are Emmy Eklundh ( and Yannis Stavrakakis ( Our Treasurer is Andy Knott ( Yannis serves as Communications Officer for all international enquiries about populism, while enquiries about the UK should be directed to Andy. Please get in touch if you would like further information or have any suggestions for the group.

Contact Us

Marina Prentoulis

Role: Co-Convenor
Institution: University of East Anglia

Emmy Eklundh

Role: Co-Convenor
Institution: King's College London

Giorgos Katsambekis

Role: Co-Convenor
Institution: Loughborough University

Andy Knott

Role: Treasurer
Institution: University of Brighton


Join this Group