The PSA Announces Its Academic Prize Winners for 2021-22

York, 12 April, 2022: The PSA is pleased to reflect and celebrate the fantastic achievements of our members with our prestigious Academic Prizes.

The winners were announced at our Academic Prizes prize-giving ceremony held at the Annual General Meeting at York University Exhibition Centre on 12 April at 5pm as part of the PSA Annual Conference.

The Chair, Vice Chair, Honorary Secretary and Treasurer of the PSA presented the awards covering categories including dissertation prizes, career prizes, group prizes and teaching prizes.

The prize-giving event gave members present in the room the opportunity to congratulate our worthy winners. Please join us in raising a glass to our colleagues - you can find a full list of all our 2021-22 winners below.

Career Prizes

Sir Isaiah Berlin Prize for a lifetime contribution to political studies was awarded to:
-Professor Philip Lord Norton of Louth, The University of Hull

Joni Lovenduski Prize for outstanding professional achievement by a mid-career scholar was awarded to:
-Dr Elizabeth Evans, Goldsmiths, University of London

Richard Rose Prize for an early career scholar who makes a distinctive contribution to British politics was awarded to:
-Dr Louise Thompson, Manchester University

Political Communicator of the Year for conveying wider political issues and enhancing the public understanding of politics was awarded to:
-The Institute for Government

Dissertation Prizes

Walter Bagehot Prize: for best dissertation in the field of government and public administration
-Dr Steven MacGregor for his dissertation ‘Does government dominate the legislative process?’

Shirin M. Rai Prize: for the best dissertation in the field of international relations
-Dr Sneha Reddy Tumu for her dissertation ‘North African and Indian Soldiers in the First World War in Palestine and Syria, 1917-1923.’

Elizabeth Wiskemann Prize: for the best dissertation in the field of (in)equality and social justice
-Dr Leah McCabe for her dissertation ‘Change, Continuity, and Contestations: Framing Domestic Abuse Policy in Scotland since 1998.’

McDougall Trust Prize: for best dissertation in the field of elections, electoral systems and representation
-Dr Matthew Barnfield for his dissertation ‘The Bandwagon Effect: How Popularity Information Affects Electoral Expectations and Voting Behaviour.’

Book Prize

MacKenzie Book Prize for best book published in political science was awarded to:

-Prof. Dr Karen Celis & Prof. Sarah Childs for their book ‘Feminist Democratic Representation’
-Prof. Maria Sobolewska & Prof. Robert Ford for their book ‘Brexitland’

Teaching Prizes

Jennie Lee Teaching Prize (main entrant) for outstanding teaching was awarded to:
-Dr Donna Smith, The Open University

Sir Bernard Crick Prize for (new entrant) for outstanding teaching was awarded to:
-Dr Simon Stevens, De Montfort University


Group Prizes

Politics Society of the Year was awarded to:
-University of York Politics Society

Specialist Group of the Year was awarded to:
-Parliaments Specialist Group

The PSA’s annual conference provides our members with the opportunity to join the conversation around political studies, network with other academics and listen to our Keynote Speakers. Our members were invited to join us at the University of York, 11-13 of April, either in person or digitally.