The British Journal of Politics and International Relations is an international journal that publishes innovative, cutting edge contemporary scholarship on international relations, comparative politics, public policy, political theory and (especially) politics and policy in the United Kingdom.  It is the world’s premier journal for research into British politics.


BJPIR is a fully refereed journal of the Political Studies Association of the UK. It has always sought to reflect and drive the major currents of debate in political science and international relations, both in the UK and internationally. The journal seeks to reflect and respond to the changing real world of politics, by publishing articles that are of contemporary relevance to both the study and practice of politics.

Since its inception in 1999, in response to the growing internationalization of the political studies community in the UK and beyond, the transnationalization of the political science profession and the globalization of politics, the journal has welcomed empirically rigorous and theoretically innovative articles on themes and issues that are of such global and scholarly significance that they matter for all states and countries irrespective of geographical location.



Email address for journal:

  • Editor-in-Chief:  Dr Alan Convery, University of Edinburgh:

  • Associate Editors: Prof Juliet Kaarbo, Dr Meryl Kenny, and Dr Oliver Turner (all University of Edinburgh)

  • Consultant Editors:  Dr Elizabeth Cripps, Dr Iain Hardie, Prof Ailsa Henderson, Prof Charlie Jeffery, and Prof James Mitchell (all University of Edinburgh)


Special issues

Each year, a call for proposals for special issues is issued by the BJPIR editorial team. To be published in the following calendar year, proposals should be submitted by 1st March of the current calendar year. 

For more information read here.


International Advisory Board

Our International Advisory Board provides broad support and advice on matters related to refereeing and general direction while ensuring the journal's international profile.


Professor Tim Bale, Queen Mary, University of London

Dr John Bartle, University of Essex

Professor Alexander Bellamy, Griffith University

Professor Richard Bellamy, University College London

Dr Lynn Bennie, University of Aberdeen

Professor Simon Caney, University of Oxford

Professor Louise Chappell, University of New South Wales

Professor Patrick Dunleavy, London School of Economics & Political Science 

Professor Elisabeth Gidengil, McGill University

Assistant Professor Nicole Grove, University of Hawaii

Professor Peter A. Hall, Harvard University

Professor Andrew Hindmoor, University of Sheffield

Professor Daniel Kelemen, Rutgers University

Professor Caroline Kennedy-Pipe, University of Hull

Professor Catriona McKinnon, University of Reading

Professor David Mutimer, York University 

Professor Kai Oppermann, University of Sussex

Professor Guy Peters, University of Pittsburgh

Professor Mark A Pollack, Temple University

Professor R.A.W. Rhodes, University of Southampton

Professor Roger Awan-Scully, Cardiff University

Professor Vicky Randall, University of Essex

Professor George Shambaugh, Georgetown University

Professor Donley T. Studlar, West Virginia University

Professor Roland Sturm, Friedrich-Alexander Universität

Professor Arlene Tickner, Universidad de Lose Andes


Best Article Prize

Each year BJPIR showcases and rewards the best article published by the Journal. The winning article is chosen by our (extended) Edinburgh Editorial Team and is directly accessible through SAGE’s website. The author(s) receives a £250 cash prize and the result is unveiled at a major conference, such as APSA or ISA, at a BJPIR reception/event.

Click here to read about past winners of the best BJPIR prize article.