Nominate the best academics, books, articles and scholars for the 2018-19 PSA Prizes.

**The nominations deadline has been extended to 21 January 2019 at 11am**




We are pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the PSA Academic Prizes 2018-19! The Prizes celebrate the best academics, books, articles and scholars of the year and the winners will be revealed at the PSA’s Annual Conference Dinner in Nottingham on Tuesday 16th April 2019.

You can find all the information about the individual prizes including how to submit your nominations below, and the deadline for submissions is 11am on 21 January 2019.

The Prize Handbook contains important information about eligibility and the guidelines for each prize. Please ensure you read the Prize Handbook carefully before submitting a nomination.

In line with our ongoing commitment to equality and diversity, the PSA also particularly welcomes nominations from women and black and minority ethnic (BME) scholars, who have been historically under-represented in PSA prize nominations and awards. We also encourage participation from across the HE sector, in particular from post-92 universities. 


Dissertation Prizes

There are six prizes available for PhD dissertations passed this calendar year:

  • Walter Bagehot Prize, for government and public administration
  • Sir Ernest Barker Prize, for political theory
  • Lord Bryce Prize, for comparative politics
  • Arthur McDougall Fund Prize, for elections, electoral systems and representation
  • Elizabeth Wiskemann Prize, for the study of (in)equality and social justice
  • Shirin M. Rai Prize, for international relations


Career Prizes

There are two prizes open for nominations in the career category:

  • Joni Lovenduski Prize, for outstanding professional achievement by a midcareer scholar
  • Richard Rose Prize, for early career scholar who has made a distinctive contribution to British politics


Teaching Prizes

There are four prizes open for nominations in the teaching category:

  • Jennie Lee Prize (Main Entrant), for outstanding teaching 
  • Sir Bernard Crick Prize (New Entrant), for outstanding teaching
  • Innovations in Quantitative Methods Teaching Prize
  • The Outstanding Teaching of Politics in Schools Prize


Group Prizes

There are two group prizes available:

  • Specialist Group of the Year Prize
  • Politics Society of the Year Prize 

There are also four article prizes (Harrison Prize; POLITICS Prize; BJPIR Prize; POLITICS Learning and Teaching Prize) to be awarded at the Annual Conference Dinner in April 2019 – the winners of which are determined internally by the respective journals.



MACKENZIE BOOK PRIZE: We have received a number of enquiries about nominations for the Mackenzie Book Prize. As in previous years, nominations for the Mackenzie Book Prize operate on a different cycle to the rest of the Academic Prizes listed above. Nominations for books published in 2017 were open from 13 June 2018 - 9 July 2018. Nominations for books published in 2018 will open later this year and the call will be publicised widely when released.

Page contact: Rosie Inman via: